http://www.teenvogue.com/story/solange-knowles-letter-to-teenage-self-cover-story-music-issue

Maybe this is something all of our young teenage selves should do (In my case, I should’ve done this years ago) to provide words of inspiration and encouragement when we reach our darkest hours in life. It’s something pure to revert back to even in our many stages of adulthood. life isn’t always fun and easy, but it’s something beautiful.  Rather than relying on and spending frivolously on self-help books this letter should be our personal guide , to remind us of how much we’ve all grown or changed in particular ways.

We get so caught up in our own daily lives and strives, often times forgetting to count our blessings. Now let’s be honest with ourselves, the future doesn’t always turn out the way we want or expect it to. Numerous things change and unexpected events arise in our lives, completely shifting our plans causing us to detour off the tracks. Whether those detours are short-lived or long-term what matters the most is the steps we take thereafter.

Im not a life-coach or motivational speaker and I know I probably sound like one. I just often find myself getting into daily slumps and cursing the day, just wishing it would be over.

Whatever current stage or age you are at write an open letter to yourself, completely exposing yourself in every way possible, expressing your vulnerability. (Yes,I’ll write one too and post it)

I’ll get started on my letter ASAP & please who ever else reads this post, I hope you’ll be able to participate in this Open letter prompt as well. I’d also like to read them if you feel like sharing!

-S.Yolee.

Leave a Reply

