Life in Syracuse as a transplant: a year in review

LIFE LESSONS AND CREATING NEW MOMENTS

Jan 8, officially marked my first anniversary since moving to Syracuse from New York City, and starting my career as a full-time journalist.

And, I’m still in disbelief of my title and moving to a new city.

It feels surreal and new – all at once. How is that possible?

Ironically, my only vague memories of Syracuse were driving through it on a Greyhound bus en route to Buffalo to go back to campus or to Toronto for family visits. This year, I’ve decided to reflect on my life before and even during my time in Syracuse.

My first year was filled with moments of:

Adjusting 

Autonomy

Busy days and nights

Confusion

Elation

Exploration (solo)

Financial uncertainty 

Frustration

Joy for solitude

Loneliness 

& Infinite emotional breakdowns, after breakdown, after breakdown

Within a week and a half of my moving, my dad had a stroke. This news broke me, I didn’t know what to do – as my Jamaican family says, “mi nuh know mi head from mi ass.”

I turned into a prayer warrior, barely slept, as I did my best to stay positive and remind myself of my Dad’s resilience and strength. 

I checked in with my mom daily to ask about her emotions. It amazes me her ability to adjust to difficult times and offer help. For two weeks everyday, she went to the hospital before work, preparing homemade meals for my dad, and even spending her days tending to him. She’s a true Godsend, although she expressed her frustrations, she still showed up and cared for him. 

I prayed, endlessly, called my parents every minute of the day whenever i could break away from work and my own anxious thoughts. 

February ‘23:

Ended my 20s in Syracuse. I turned 30…

This is still unbelievable to me (even now as I write this, I’ve turned 31!! whaaat?!) I’m shocked at how fast life sped up after 25. It doesn’t even feel that long ago, yet so many of those experiences and people I knew felt like a lifetime ago.  

I didn’t feel a significant change, other than my mindset, well certain aspects of it. I feel more mature, although I still battle with anxious moments and thoughts. Yet, I’m more certain about my decisions, while unsure of what’s to come. 

Something I’ve realized is my want to take more risks, to start exploring what financial freedom truly looks like, and to take a chance on my creative ideas and talents. 

For my  birthday, I decided to stay in ‘Cuse because going back home to celebrate a month after moving was another financial stressor I couldn’t handle. I hoped people would drive up for my bday. That didn’t happen. Maybe, that was a little self-centered of me to think or hope. I usually don’t plan for my bday, yet, a girl could hope.

Plus I adore surprised-filled moments and that would’ve been a perfect experience.  

In the midst of feeling all me feels, I was encouraged by co-workers and acquaintance (at the time- now friend) to celebrate my third decade. So I chose The Hop Spot in ‘Cuse and then a local bar downtown, Al’s.

I was grateful for the people who chose to celebrate with me that night even if our rapport was new. 

I took my first trip to NOLA with one of my birthday month twins. I am so grateful to have friends who have birthdays in the same month or close enough to it. It’s a special bond. The impulsiveness I have at times, especially when it comes to traveling, and having people who are down for the ride *SZA voice* makes it even more worthwhile.

NOLA was filled with days of walking, shopping, eating and trying new foods like fried alligator, bourbon pudding, gumbo, beignets, and crawfish etouffee.

Our arrival was perfect timing for Ari Lennox’s tour, the live performance at the Fillmore was amazing and worth my coins.

Touring for the French Quarter, 3 days of Mardi Gras parade  festivities, ghost tours of the old french quarters filled with stories about vampires, spirits, witches, missing people, vicious beatings and inhumane treatment of enslaved people, and buildings cursed with bad omens.

What’s a trip without a lil adrenaline rush. The ghost tours just wasn’t enough. So we went zip-lining over a swampy area, located 30 minutes outside of Nawlins (New Orleans).

March- April ‘23: 

Feels like a blur. 

From what I remember, it was endless days of going to the office, exploring what Downtown  Syracuse has to offer and getting familiar with my surroundings. It didn’t take too long to do that. I immediately learned shorter routes and covered enough ground walking on foot, accompanied by Google Maps. And then, there were the endless meetings with people and organizations introducing myself as the new arts and culture reporter.

In mid-April, I made another visit to the city to celebrate my friends birthdays – who happen to be cousins, born in the same month, conveniently. Two birthdays

It was also during this time i realized one source of income is not it dawg…

Baby shower tings. Another addition to the family, so once again I hauled my ass home. 

May ‘23:

I spent a lot of moments doing solo dates and travel, taking walks as spring sprung and the sun came out.

I took walks mostly to Downtown Clinton Square, and considered signing up for swimming classes at the local YMCA and dance classes. 

I wanted to feel like myself again and not allow depression to swallow me whole. 

Eventually settled on taking swimming lessons – at my big age, it was so helpful. I will definitely enroll my future kids (if I have any) in swimming lessons, this is such a valuable skill. 

The looming loneliness was starting to set in. I was lonely and desired to build community. 

During one of my incessant social media scrolling, I found a spot, a local brunch restaurant. I took myself on a solo date, even though I was nervous to. =

June ‘23:

I worked on weekends, in addition to my FT reporting job, as an attempt to make new friends and gain extra income, pay off debt.. You know all the extra stuff that comes with adulting. 

Having a second job consumed most of my time. I still found time to take a long walk alone. If I wasn’t too tired  myself to summertime goodies, like ice cream from the ICE CREAM Stand or lattes at the cake Bar. 

Thanks to my parents for the routined walks from Fordham Road, lol. 

I’ve always enjoyed life’s simple pleasures, so it didn’t really bother me to spend moments alone. I still craved companionship and finding my community here.

I went to Taste of Syracuse – everybody was raving about it. So I went. I walked around by myself for a while, tried new and familiar foods, like a peanut butter filled chocolate donut from … 

July ‘23:

Still working. I took mini weekend breaks from ‘Cuse on weekends, headed back to the city for birthday celebrations and my cousin’s baby shower.. 

August ‘23:

I prepped for my trip to Colombid – my first international trip of the year. It was sooooo needed. 

September-ish ‘23:

I started my loc journey, unintentionally. 

I’m so accustomed to having access to a hairdresser or at least finding one in the city, esp, braiding salons. Being in Syracuse, I’ve had to rely on my own “skills” Although I’ve experimented with certain protective extension styles; the one that’s stuck and I’m consistent with is mini twists or mini braids. 

The mini twists have been my most consistent and dependable style, so I’ve decided to stick with it. The winter months make it easier to keep it in this way and style as I go. I’m still impatient though, because there are times I want to do a twist out, wear my ‘fro, get a silk press or some variation of a braid hairstyle. 

October ‘23:

Went to an apple orchard for the first time. I drank a flight of apple cider assortment, and ate bomb chicken fingers and fries.

We attempted apple-picking, but not really. The drinks took us out. 

It was a time and overall beautiful to experience. 

November ’23:

I went home for Thanksgiving break. As usual, my brother “the chef” relieved the rest of us from cooking. In true fashion of displaying his culinary skills, he cooked a full course menu of house favorites and cultural traditions, with his own signature twist.

December ’23:

I booked a trip to California, to visit my friend in Oakland. My first time in Cali. there air was different, and yet similar the fast pace movement reminded me a little bit of New York City.

Now it’s May ’24, I’m getting closer to a year and a half of living in ‘Cuse (see I’m even using their lingo now)

So in short it hasn’t been easy, but I’m learning to appreciate the ride, no matter how bumpy it gets.

This is my testament of courage and faith to you (whoever is out there who wants to move to a new city). I know my circumstances happened based on an economic decision, and sometimes I still question my choices daily. The what-ifs live rent-free in my head and seem to be on autoplay. But, honestly, will we ever know if a decision is right or wrong without at least giving it a try?

Leave a comment